Florida Lawmakers Push to Repeal No Fault Auto Insurance Laws

Florida lawmakers are pressing forward with an effort to repeal the state’s no-fault car insurance system. Short of full repeal, they hope to achieve a major overhaul.

Any changes will likely be controversial, given the fact that no-fault insurance is a perennial hot-button issue. Critics say it’s behind the times at best and, at worst, beset by fraud.

Brooks Law Group will be monitoring any no-fault developments carefully. But until any changes are made, you will still need to pursue compensation for any injuries you receive in a car accident from your own insurance company first, even if someone else is to blame for the crash.

Have you been hurt? A car accident lawyer from Brooks Law Group can file a claim for you and explore whether you have any other legal options outside of the no-fault system. Call or contact us now for a free consultation.

What Does No-Fault Mean?

Florida is one of a few states that follow no-fault auto insurance regulations. This system provides that your own insurance coverage, called personal injury protection (PIP), pays the medical bills and other expenses of any person named under your policy after a car accident.

If you’re the policyholder, PIP coverage is broader than you may realize. It applies to:

  • Your children, even if they’re injured as a passenger in a school bus wreck
  • Members of your household
  • Your passengers who lack their own PIP coverage, if they don’t own a car
  • You while a passenger in someone else’s car
  • You walking, running or riding a bike when hit by a vehicle

PIP coverage kicks in regardless of who caused the wreck. No-fault/PIP claims have limits when it comes to the kinds of losses that are covered, though. You can’t get compensation for your “pain and suffering” and certain other non-monetary damages.

In order to file a claim under PIP insurance, you must get treated within two weeks of the wreck.

What Could a Repeal Mean for Florida Drivers?

Proponents advocate for PIP, at a minimum, to be replaced with bodily injury coverage that would be mandatory. Under the proposal, drivers would be required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for the death of one person in an accident or $50,000 for the injuries or deaths of two or more people.

In addition, the bill would require insurers to offer medical payments coverage (MedPay) starting at $5,000 and with deductibles of up to $500.

Florida and one other state are the only ones that don’t require drivers to carry liability coverage if they cause the injury or death of someone else.

Contact a Florida Car Accident Injury Lawyer If You’ve Been Injured

The complexities of no-fault insurance may baffle you. If you’ve been hurt in a Florida auto accident, a knowledgeable car accident attorney can guide you through the claims process so that you receive full and fair compensation for your losses. That’s what you’ll find at Brooks Law Group.

For years, our acclaimed attorneys have recovered top-dollar compensation for Floridians injured in a wide range of motor vehicle accidents. Come find out what we can do for you. Call or contact Brooks Law Group today for a free consultation.

Steve was born in New Orleans, Louisiana. As was the practice for new doctors his father worked day and night during his medical residency at Charity Hospital there. Steve comes from a long line of doctors. His father, his grandfather, his great grandfather, even two uncles were all specialists and/or surgeons in their chosen medical specialties, including internal medicine specialist, obstetrics / gynecology, neurosurgery and general practice / surgery. His great-great grandfather was the Surgeon General of Ohio during the Civil War.