Florida 14-day PIP Rule - Brooks Law Group

Do I Need to Go to the Doctor’s Office?

If you were injured in a car accident, seek medical attention within the first 14 days– even during a pandemic!  Recent times have been stressful enough – being in a car accident can add to the stress and leave you confused about which steps to take and in what order to take them.

In a normal world, we aren’t living under a stay at home order and fear doesn’t factor into our decision to seek medical treatment. The COVID-19 pandemic has many people afraid to seek any unrelated medical care – much less a car accident injury. However, many providers are offering Telephone Consultations to help schedule your first appointment within the first 14 days of your accident.

If you are injured in an accident you need to seek medical attention within 14 days to preserve your PIP. 

  1. Treatment is essential to your health as well as your case.
  2. Even a minor impact can jar the body and cause injury. It is vital for you to seek medical care, in person, to receive PIP benefits, according to the Florida PIP 14-day rule.
  3. Local urgent cares and emergency rooms are taking extra precautions to ensure that you and your loved ones are safe.
  4. Many providers are offering telehealth options to help schedule your first appointment within the first 14 days of your accident.

Do Not Deny Yourself Care Because of Fear.

If you have any questions, we are here to ensure that you receive the proper care, respect, attention, and wisdom that you deserve. At Brooks Law Group, we are confident that we can help alleviate a little stress for you, call to receive your free case evaluation.

We believe that everyone in our community matters. If you’ve been hurt, we want to hear your story. Our personal injury attorneys take the time to listen so that each person who walks through the doors of our offices in Winter Haven, Lakeland, and Tampa has every aspect of their personal injury or auto accident case addressed.